Rick Stanton, Great Britain and Ireland Explorer Chapter, Rory Golden, Mark Wood, Sally Cartwright, Rick Stanton, Rosemary E Lunn, Roz Lunn, XRay Mag, X-Ray Magazine, scuba diving news
Rick Stanton was presented a Great Britain and Ireland Explorer Chapter Coin by Mark Wood on 21 November 2021

Rick Stanton presented with Explorers Club 'Chapter Coin'

100 of these coins have been especially crafted for the chapter.

The GB&I Chapter Coin is given to inspiring individuals and those who have contributed to exploration in extraordinary ways. Mark Wood, explorer

Polar explorer Mark Wood stated "As Chair of the Great Britain and Ireland Chapter I'm in a privileged position to meet some extraordinary people through my work. I had the honour of presenting Rick Stanton with the Chapter Coin."

Emperor Divers Awards 5th ‘Covid Diver Hero’ with Maldives Liveaboard Trip

It shouldn’t come as a surprise that so far every one of our recognised heroes has been working in the hospitals throughout, deep down we all know that that is where the effects of corona are most keenly felt. At this point we get to recognise our 5th winner, another awesome hero from the diving community working in the intensive care wards battling the terrible effects of this virus. Ingrid Stubeliusaged 38 nominated by her husband Fredrik wins a free liveaboard trip in the Maldives, and here is her story:

Photo by Jesper Risløv
EUF Lavanchy Award was presented to X-Ray Mag founder Peter Symes.

EUF Lavanchy Award presented to X-Ray Mag's founder

Nowadays, digital publications are common, but back in 2003, when Peter Symes had the vision to establish and produce X-Ray Mag—the first digital dive publication—this was not the case. “Peter has created a publication that the whole world reads, because it covers the many aspects of our sport in depth: destinations, science, media, safety, research, equipment, people, places, etc,” stated the EUF in a press release.

The 2020 Lavanchy Award Winner - Franz Brümmer - is pictured here on the right with the Steffen Scholz (EUF President) at BOOT.2020

It's time to submit your 2021 Lavanchy Award nomination

The award recognises an individual who has enthusiastically contributed to the European diving community and it was named in honour of the late Jack Lavanchy.

The EUF has now confirmed that nominations are open for the 2020 award.

Professor Doctor Franz Brümmer (right), former President of the Association of German Sports Divers (VDST) was honoured on 7 December 2019, when he received the DOSB Badge of Honor from DOSB President Alfons Hörmann (left)

Franz Brümmer to receive EUF Lavanchy Award At Boot 2020

The EUF Lavanchy Award is presented annually to an individual whom EUF members feel "has made a significant and sustained contribution towards the responsible development of the European diving community."

This year, Franz Brümmer, a 63-year-old diver and German scientist, who has always been keen to introduce marine biology to a broad audience (with the aim of encouraging wide and active environmental protection) will receive the Lavanchy Award.

{"preview_thumbnail":"/sites/default/files/styles/video_embed_wysiwyg_preview/public/video_thumbnails/4qxidxZGTDQ.jpg?itok=_dguTCFA","video_url":"","settings":{"responsive":1,"width":"854","height":"480","autoplay":1},"settings_summary":["Embedded Video (Responsive, autoplaying)."]}

EUF Lavanchy Award Winners

Rob Harper, Rick Stanton, John Volanthen, Thailand, Thai Cave Rescue, British Caver, cave diving rescue, XRay Mag, X-Ra
Weerasak Kowsurat, the Thai Minister for Minister for Tourism and Sports presented Rob Harper with a very special drawing to thank him for his specialist help | Credit: Sky News

British caver Rob Harper is thanked and honoured by Thailand

It has now been confirmed that Rob Harper has returned to the UK for a medical appointment.

When Harper arrived at Suvarnabhumi Airport to fly back to the UK, he received a VIP welcome and escort. He was warmly greeted by several Thai officials including the Minister for Tourism and Sports, Weerasak Kowsurat.

The Minister presented a Certification of Appreciation to Rob Harper on behalf of the Kingdom of Thailand.

Kind heart. Fierce mind. Brave spirit.

Underwater photographer Alex Mustard to receive an MBE

The Queen’s Birthday Honours List recognises a wide range of extraordinary people across the United Kingdom. The awardees are acknowledged for their distinguished work and achievements in a specific field, in this instance "the Arts, Music and Dance".

Alex Mustard will receive his MBE or Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire medal in the next few months.

It's an incredible happy shock and I am delighted

It has therefore been fascinating watching Mustard's career flourish. He has won a number of awards including the BBC Wildlife Photographer of the Year.

In 2003 he received the Visions In the Sea Award for Outstanding Contributions to Underwater Photography. Ten years later, in 2013, Alex was named the GDT European Wildlife Photographer of the Year for his image Night Moves. The only time an underwater photograph has won this prestigious award. In 2016 he was given the ADEX 2016 Award for Extraordinary Contribution to Underwater Photography.

Mark Caney, Martin Parker, Jack Lavanchy, Rosemary E Lunn, Roz Lunn, EUF, European Underwater Federation, Dusseldorf, Boot Show 2018, XRay Mag, X- Ray Magazine, scuba diving awards, diving news
Martin celebrating his EUF Award at Boot 2018 | Image Credit: Martin Denison

Martin Parker Receives EUF Lavanchy Award At Boot 2018

The new award was to honour of former EUF Honorary Vice President, Jack Lavanchy. It would be presented annually to an individual who EUF members felt "had made a significant and sustained contribution towards the responsible development of the European diving community."

The inaugural winner in 2017 was Deric Ellerby.